Nigeria: Adefuye Honours Six With Martin Luther King Awards

Nigerian Ambassador and Honorary Chair of the 2015 Martin Luther King Jr. Annual Awards ceremony, Prof. Adebowale Adefuye, will today honour six eminent Africans and African-Americans who have contributed to the Legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., through their efforts in economic empowerment, National and International service, Civil Engagement, Advocacy & Justice and Philanthropy.

The honourees include ; King Peggy (Peggieliene Bartel), who will be honoured with Dr. Dorothy I. Height Leadership Award. Others will be decorated with Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Legacy Awards in the following categories: Honorable John Conyers, Jr, National Service; William R. 'Billy' Martin, Advocacy And Justice; Igho Charles Sanomi II, International Service; Frank. F. Islam, International Service and Civil Engagement and Benedict Peters, Economic Empowerment.


Minister of Culture and Tourism, Chief Edem Duke will also attend the event with a special greeting and message from Nigeria.

The annual awards ceremony was started in 1991, to honour the extraordinary legacy of the famed civil right leader Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and the legendary, Dr. Dorothy I. Height and their impacts both at home and abroad.



Original Source: